Awards announced in 2014 UCSF Residents Report

Submitted by UCSF Urology on September 24, 2014 at 1:11 pm
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share via E-mail

The annual listing of awards achieved by residents appears in the summer issue of the Graduate Medical Education’s (GME) publication, The Residents Report.  Urology received eight awards this year with the bulk being won by Lindsay Hampson, MD and Anobel Odisho, MD both 6th year chiefs.

“Despite the relatively small number of UCSF Medical Center residents in Urology compared to other programs, we have once again won an impressive percent of awards overall,” says department chair, Peter R. Carroll, MD, MPH.  “Recognition and accolades from outside the department is a great testament to the high caliber of our residents.”

The list is as follows:

2013 Mount Zion Health Fund Travel Award
Lindsay Hampson, MD

2014 Caring Wisely Winner
Lindsay Hampson, MD

2014 Northern California Urological Resident Seminar Clinical Research Award
Lindsay Hampson, MD

2014 Earle C. Anthony Travel Award
Lindsay Hampson, MD

UCSF Emergency Department “Consultant of the Year”
Anobel Y. Odisho, MD

Northern California Residents Research Seminar Clinical Sciences Honorable Mention
Anobel Y. Odisho, MD

2014 Masters in Public Health, Epidemiology/ Biostatistics; School of Public Health, UC Berkeley
Anobel Y. Odisho, MD, MPH

Northern California Residents Research Seminar Basic Sciences Research Award
Thomas Sanford, MD

In addition to the above awards, the Hampson/Odisho team won the June, 2014 GME Award for Excellence and Innovation for their efforts at improving smoking cessation rates in patients undergoing surgery as well as efforts to understand variation in cost and materials utilization for patients undergoing urologic procedures.

Hampson, is a 2009 graduate at the University of Michigan.  Odisho is a 2009 graduate of UCSF and Tom Sanford, MD is 2010 graduate of the University of Hawaii. 

For access to this years Residents Report, click here

Topic Area(s):